Dreams and Facebook

12 Oct

 

Networking, stalking. Whatevs.

 

I had a really weird dream last night. I don’t even remember what happened in the actual dream, but the star of the dream was someone I haven’t seen or spoken to in years. I worked with him and that was it.

That’s a lie.  He was very tall and quite funny, so obviously I had a crush on him. Obviously. But that was it, really.

And I’m pretty sure the only reason he made this dream cameo is because my mom asked about him the other day. She’s seen him once in her life and never actually spoken to him. It was one day when she came to visit me at work. She looked at me, looked at him and then decided we were meant to be together forever. She also knew that he would sometimes call me when he was drunk and took that as a sign of love. So she still asks about him even though I haven’t seen him since 2006. That’s four years, people. Four years and 358930 different crushes later.

She really likes tall guys too. Perhaps I’ve mentioned this before, but my mother and I are basically the same person.

Anywho, I had this dream and woke up all weirded out. There are so many other guys I could be dreaming about, where the heck did this one come from? So the minute I jumped (actually I kind of fell) out of bed this morning I ran to the computer.

You see where this is going, right?

Yes, I am that creeper. And yes, if you ask me out on a date I will probably do this to you too. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. Hopefully I’ll have better luck with you though, because this guy? Nowhere to be found on the interweb.

(In my defense, I really only checked Facebook but that seemed sufficient enough for me at the time, plus I only had 17 minutes after that to get my lazy ass out the door).

But how weird is that? It’s also kind of weird that this was the first time I was trying to find him. Maybe I have before, and just forget. I can’t even remember what I wore yesterday so the probability of that happening is very high.

I’m so use to everyone having a Facebook that it honestly weirds me out when someone doesn’t. And the idea of me calling him (I don’t delete numbers..if I knew you when I was 16 and first got a cell phone you’re probably still in my phone) is just far too scary. Plus, what if he didn’t know who I was?

How embarrassing.

Funny thing is, if you Google me you can immediatly find my Facebook page, my Twitter page, this blog and every article I ever wrote for my school’s newspaper. Shoot, I might as well just give you my social security number now, huh?

I can’t imagine not being part of this whole social media world. And I think about this blog far more than I’m willing to admit, but I do wonder what it would be like to not partake.

I wouldn’t know when every girl from my high school gets engaged (unless I actually spoke to them in person). I wouldn’t know when every blog I read has been updated (unless I took the time to check myself). I wouldn’t know who got kicked off Dancing With The Stars (unless I watched myself). I wouldn’t know when the kid I rode the bus with in middle school got a puppy (unless…well, I really don’t need to know that I guess).

And most importantly, I wouldn’t know if someone I knew four years ago randomly had a dream about me.

Boo.

2 Responses to “Dreams and Facebook”

  1. Jamie October 12, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    Ooooh I know who you’re talking about! I wonder what happened to him…hmm. You weird Facebook stalker!! Love you!

    • Mansee October 12, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

      Haha I knew you would know who it was!

Leave a Reply

