Cookies!

16 Oct

The first blog I ever read was a food blog. I almost died of happiness.

Fast forward a couple years later, and I have this little bloggy of my own. But I still pretty much only read food blogs. So I read about food and write about…random?

Makes sense in my head.

One of my favorite blogs is Eat Live Run. I love the way she writes and her food always looks good so I’ve been an avid reader for a while now.

And then this happened. You guys, she told us how to make those cookies we all grew up eating at every holiday party EVER. You know the ones I’m talking about. Big and cakey with all that frosting on top. To die for, even if it is probably why most of us will have diabetes when we’re older. Morbid, I know.

So I’ve been reading this one post pretty much everyday for two weeks, and finally today I decided to make them.

Don’t get too excited here, I’m not turning into a food blogger here (the quality of the pictures below will explain that one). I just realized I’ve been complaining a lot in the past few posts, so I thought something lighthearted would be nice.

Plus I really love cookies.

I took a quick little tour of the kitchen and realized we didn’t have eggs. I almost aborted the mission right there as I didn’t want to put real clothes on and be seen in daylight but, alas, my desire for these cookies dragged me upstairs, into some pants and out the door.

Eggs? Check.

So I got back home and was SUPER excited. Only to find out that we were almost out of all-purpose flour. I then proceeded to curse myself because 1. I should have checked for all the ingredients before going to the store and 2. the reason why we have no all-purpose flour is because I insist on doing the grocery shopping at home because it makes me happier than most things in this world. So I take my parents credit card and skip up and down the aisles doing silly things, like buying large amounts of whole wheat flour. And maybe five cans of pumpkin. Five cans of pumpkin which I need to cleverly use in order to justify the purchase to my mother.

It’s fall. Don’t judge me.

So now the Wal-Mart Crack Cookies (greatest cookie name ever) were now going to be Pumpkin Spice Cookies. Not gonna lie, this excited me a little bit more. And luckily I’ve been on a whole wheat flour baking spree for the last month, so I quickly got over the lack of white grains.

And then this happened:

I have the worst camera known to mankind.

And then I got sassy and made a cream cheese frosting on the fly:

What was left when I remembered to take a photo

As some of my Facebook friends know, I have a hard time waiting for cookies to cool before frosting them. In order to make the time go by faster I entertained myself by eating the frosting with a spoon. A big spoon. But don’t worry friends, I totally saved room for a finished cookie!

Speaking of…

I feel like these would look epic if I had a better camera

That picture makes it look like I put a foot of frosting on those bad boys. But that’s not the case. Not only did I eat most of the frosting before getting it to the actual cookies (therefore making a foot of frosting impossible), but the cookies themselves are kind of thick and domed like. They’re basically little delicious cakes.

See?

If you squint your eyes and turn your head sideways the bluriness goes away. Okay, that's a lie.

Below is my recipe. But check out the original (which was adapted from somewhere else I think). You better believe I’ll be making those once I get more flour in this house!

Pumpkin Spice Crack Cookies

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • ground cinnamon (I actually didn’t measure this, but I’d say about 1/2 tsp depending on how much you like the flavor)
  • ground nutmeg (ditto for the nutmeg)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 5 TB butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup milk (I used 1% because that’s all we had)
  • Combine all the dry ingredients in a small bowl. Don’t get it all over your black shirt like I did.
  • Cream together the butter and sugar until it’s all fluffy. Add the egg and beat until it’s well combined. Add pumpkin and vanilla. Beat again.
  • Alternate adding the milk and flour (start with flour and end with flour, so it’ll go flour-milk-flour-milk-flour). Mix after each addition.
  • Don’t freak out because it doesn’t look like cookie dough. It’s suppose to be a cake batter. It’ll all work out in the end, I promise!
  • You can make the cookies whatever size you want…I did like three really big ones and the rest smallish. Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes (bake time will depend on the size of the cookies, but you can do the toothpick test to make sure.)
  • How many you get out of the recipe will depend on the size too, but it’ll probably be about 15 normal sized cookies.

Let cookies cool completely before frosting. If this is a problem, get yourself out of the kitchen. Go for a run, clean your closet. OR eat the frosting like a monster. Whatever works for you.

Cream Cheese Frosting (Totally made this one up, feel free to use whatever recipe works for you!)

  • 1/2 pkg cream cheese
  • 2 TB butter, softened
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • Beat cream cheese and butter together. Add vanilla and then sugar. Add the sugar gradually and continuously check (read: taste) it to see when to stop. This is all dependent on how sweet you like it.

Frost cookies. Eat cookies. Pat yourself on the back.

 

Leave a Reply

