Oh, you’re single? Sorry about that.

27 Jan

If you’re my Facebook friend (and why wouldn’t you be?!) you may have noticed the status I posted a few days ago:

Sorry that’s a little small. But you get the idea.

This came about because I was tired of having this conversation with others.

Other person: So do you have a boyfriend? (or some variation of the question)

Me: Nope. (or some other variation of the word)

Other person: Oh man, I bet you hate Valentines Day! (no variation, that’s what they all say)

Then they look at me with pity. That’s the worst part. Ugh.

What part of me makes people think they need to feel bad about me? Do I have “I’m single and hate my life” stamped across my forehead?! If so, please tell me so I can go wash it off. Pronto.

I really didn’t want to have to use my precious blog to address this issue, but it seems I must since these conversations are happening with basically everybody I meet. Including my customers, who seem to care more about my “sad, pathetic, single life” than their quad-venti-light whip, extra stirred-mocha.

Sigh.

To put it simply, I do not hate Valentine’s Day. In fact, I LOVE Valentine’s Day.

This would be your time to gasp, clutch your heart and faint.

Are you better now? Did your significant other come help you off your floor? They did? Well, that’s sweet! Now you both can read.

I love it because it’s adorable. Red and pink! Balloons and flowers! Candy and chocolate! Adorable coffee mugs! Heart-shaped EVERYTHING!

I love it all. Especially the adorable coffee mugs. So much that my mom threatened to kick me out of the house if I bought one more. I’m willing to take my chances though since they’ll be going on clearance on Feb. 15 and I’ve had my eye on this one at work……anybody need a roomie? I might be in need of shelter soon.

Guess a boyfriend would come in handy then. Har har.

I’ll start off by admitting that I get why you would think I hate the holiday (and yes, I do kind of think it is a holiday). I see why you would imagine me sitting in my Snuggie on Feb. 14 elbows deep in a tub of frosting, watching “You’ve Got Mail”.

But that would imply that I don’t do that all the time. And since “You’ve Got Mail” has seen my DVD player at least 12 times this year, I can assure you that your implication is wrong.

But again, I understand why you would think that. I’m single. Without partner. All alone in this big wide world, with nobody to love me! Right?

Um, wrong.

Just because I listen to Taylor Swift doesn’t mean I lay in bed every night wishing I had someone to cuddle with. I mean, I listen to Weezy everyday too. Would you like to assume things about me based on that too?

Wait, don’t answer that.

The thing is, I’m the girl who watches “chick flicks” to feel happy. I love seeing two people fall in love. Other people being happy does not automatically mean I am not happy. Does that make sense?

Let me put it this way: Being single does not make me sad.

The humane society commercials make me sad.  Not seeing my family for months at a time makes me sad. Not seeing my best friend everyday makes me sad. Dropping a pan of cookies I just baked on the floor makes me sad. Very, very sad.

Being single makes me…well, single. That’s all. I’ve been single (almost) my whole life and I’m fine. Just fine.

If you want to worry about me, than go for it. That’s sweet. But don’t you dare feel bad for me. I won’t accept it. There are way more important things in this world for my family, friends (and random customers) to feel bad about.

I’m tired of others being surprised to find out I rarely date. What’s so damn surprising about it? There are plenty of people who don’t have dates lined up every weekend. Should we start a Singles Club? Maybe we can all hang out, hide, eat ice cream and feel bad about ourselves while our counterparts go out and show the world how in love they are.

First rule of Singles Club, don’t talk about Singles Club…

I like boys. I like dates. I love love. But I don’t need anybody to feel bad for me on Valentine’s Day, or any day for that matter.

How can you feel bad for me when I have friends that make me laugh:

A niece and nephew so cute they make my heart melt every time I look at them:

This big pile o’ love:

Cupcakes! (made by Jessica)

And, of course, mugs that look like this:

Truth: I showed you ALL those pictures just to have an excuse to put that mug up there. I’m completely obsessed.

So back to you, Mr. quad-venti-light whip, extra stirred-mocha, no I do not hate Valentine’s Day. Now go find yourself somebody else to pity.

Thanks.

3 Responses to “Oh, you’re single? Sorry about that.”

  1. Sonia @ Master of Her Romaine January 27, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    I can’t be in your singles club… But I do love pink and red and hearts hearts hearts! It is my favorite shape to doodle and always has been 🙂
    I don’t know if I love V-Day as much as you do, but I know I don’t dislike it! And I can’t believe people would say that to you!

    • Sonia @ Master of Her Romaine January 27, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

      PS I’m searching for you on Facebook…

      • Mansee January 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

        Yay! You should be able to find me easily. Not too many Mansee Muzumdars are running around as far as I know

Leave a Reply

